Go West!

After crossing the vastness of the Nullarbor, we were thrilled to be greeted by the immense natural beauty of Western Australia:

'Roos at Cape Le Grand National Park

Albany (like in New York State, only Aussies pronounce the "Al" like "Ale," not "All")

Me & Heather at Perth City Beach (Apparently dancing?! I don't remember doing that but I guess Adam snapped the pic at just the right moment!)

I don’t know what we liked best about WA – the amazing beaches or the delectable food.  Of course, after subsisting for several days on tuna packets & canned soup, you couldn’t quite blame us for going a bit overboard with our meals by the time we got out west.

We weren’t expecting much when we stopped for lunch in the small town of Nornalup, so we were pleasantly surprised when we stumbled upon the Nornalup Tea House Restaurant.  I think my picture of their pumpkin soup speaks for itself!

Pumpkin, leek & pancetta soup & Ciabatta with roasted garlic oil

Adding to the good eats, I had one of the best brekkies (Aussie slang for breakfast) at Fidel’s Bar & Cafe in Fremantle, just south of Perth.

Omelet with red onion, tomato, feta & basil

Although . . . not all of the food we had was great . . . Since coming to Oz I’ve discovered the delights of pumpkin as an Aussie favorite in savoury dishes & I’ve had a hard time resisting any menu items that include it.  So when I saw a dish at Toast Cafe in Perth that featured not only pumpkin, but another ingredient reminiscent of home, I decided I just *had* to “give it a go.”

Spinach, pumpkin & bleu cheese crepe

BIG mistake.

The only time I want to see bleu cheese again is if it’s paired with pizza & wings.

I guess I’ve watched too many crazy cooking shows lately & figured if a chef concocted the dish & deemed the flavor combination worthy to serve in a cafe, it couldn’t be as bad as it sounded.  Stop laughing!  Sometimes crazy sounding dishes actually taste great!  Well, I should have listened to my gut on this one.  Live & learn! 😉

Anyway, no worries, because we’re now ready to refresh our palates with dessert . . . 🙂

Cakes at Sherbet

My absolute favorite place to eat in Western Australia was Sherbet – I was just so enchanted by their beautiful cakes!

Chocolate raspberry cake - The ganache on this cake was pure heaven!

Coconut & passionfruit cake - Moist & delicious

Sherbet is the type of bakery/cafe where I hope to be able to work while I’m living abroad . . . Now if only I can find a place like this that’s hiring on the east coast!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auntie Marilyn
    May 17, 2011 @ 21:16:07

    Love the photos – especially the yummy food – you better get lots of recipes so you can make your favorites for all of us! Maybe you can open up your own Australian style restuarant!!! Love and miss you – looks like you are having a blast!!! I’m jealous!

    Reply

  2. Camille
    May 18, 2011 @ 00:40:44

    Reminds me of the TV show “Survivor” (of which I was a big fan) except in this “episode” crossing the Nullarbor in Paul Heinz (which was challenging enough) with only packets of tuna and canned soup. But oh – the final reward – beautiful beaches, incredible scenery, adorable roos and great food with wonderful dessserts. The final reward!

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      May 18, 2011 @ 06:43:15

      Sometimes it felt a bit like Survivor! Funny because we actually watched a few episodes of the current season on Adam’s laptop while we were on the road. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Heather
    May 18, 2011 @ 16:16:36

    Sherbert was RIDICULOUSLY good. I could have gone to Mrs S and Sherbert every day for ages. Can’t wait to write about these places myself and drool!

    Thanks for reminding me about how wonderful WA was…so weird to be sitting at my house in Virginia typing this!

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      May 19, 2011 @ 00:44:42

      If I had decided to stay in Perth I would have loved to work at Sherbet! Such a cute little place & so delish! I remember you loved the coffee at Mrs. S. Wish we could go back to both of those places!

      Reply

  4. Linda
    May 18, 2011 @ 17:01:39

    Nicole, I had to read your blog on ‘Wee’ing in the Bush’ again. I enjoyed it and laughed so much the first time that I read it again just for the fun of it.

    Reply

  5. Aunt Penny
    May 23, 2011 @ 01:50:34

    The food looks sooooo good!!! I noticed there are no photos of the tuna packets and canned soup :-). And the beaches are absolutely beautiful.

    Love you lots and miss you…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Map of Australia

WA = Western Australia; NT = Northern Territory; SA = South Australia; QLD = Queensland; NSW = New South Wales; ACT = Australian Capital Territory; VIC = Victoria; TAS = Tasmania

Calendar

May 2011
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
