Adelaide: A small city with a lot to offer

Cutest monkeys ever at the Adelaide Zoo!

The final destination of the Oz Road Trip with Heather & Adam was Adelaide, South Australia, which we reached on April 6th, almost two months after our journey had begun on February 13th! The feeling was bittersweet in many ways: we were all excited to get back to civilization once again after several days spent driving back across the Nullarbor, but we also knew our journey together was drawing to a close. Fortunately for me, Adam & Heather were able to spend a few days with me in Adelaide before heading back to Sydney.

This part of our trip was particularly momentous for me because it was the first time I had stayed in a hostel in almost two months – no more camping for me! . . . weeell, at least not for a week or so anyway – hahaha, but I will write about sleeping in a swag on my tour from Adelaide to Alice Springs in a separate post (coming very soon, I promise!) 😉 Now normally I would not be so excited to be staying in a hostel, but my mom wondered if it would seem like The Ritz in comparison to all the time I had spent sleeping outdoors & she was absolutely right! The Adelaide YHA is the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in & I’m not just saying that because I finally had a roof over my head once again!

Adelaide YHA

During my week & a half stay, the hostel was always clean & relatively quiet & there were often activities to help you meet other guests.

My (6-bed) dorm in the Adelaide YHA . . . OK, admittedly I took this picture during the one day when I was the only one staying in the room so that's why it looks so neat & clean!

I was fortunate to meet several people at the YHA that I ended up hanging out with at one point or another during my stay.  Angie from Scotland & Daisy from Hong Kong were both roommates of mine & one afternoon we decided to stop by the Adelaide Central Market to buy some food for a picnic lunch . . . at least that was our plan before it started to rain. 😦  Well, although we couldn’t enjoy eating in the lovely botanical gardens that day as we had planned, we did still manage to have a nice lunch together, even if we did end up eating it in the hostel kitchen! 😉

Beautiful fruit & veg at the Adelaide Central Market

A scrumptious selection of cheeses

When I look back at my photos & notes from Adelaide, there were so many highlights!  You may hear some Aussies put Adelaide down because it’s a small city & it doesn’t quite have the glamour of Sydney or Melbourne, but I really enjoyed my time there.

Funi, a female panda at the Adelaide Zoo . . . Yes, I know it's weird to have a picture of a panda in my blog about Australia, but Adelaide boasts the only pandas (they have two!) in the southern hemisphere.

Malayan Tapir at the Adelaide Zoo - Strangest animal I have ever seen! But Wombat is still my fav!

Dark chocolate & blueberry muffin from Cocolat - OMG was this thing good!

Piano in Adelaide Central Market - they had these all over the city!

One of the many gorgeous flowers at the Adelaide Botanical Gardens.

So as you can see, this city really does have a lot to offer!  And when you add in a day trip to some of the many wineries in South Australia, Adelaide is the perfect spot for a relaxing holiday.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 16:55:36

    Radelaide ❤

    I forgot about that muffin you had. Very curious about that place. If I make it back to Adelaide, it'll be one of my first stops.

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 10:44:14

      I know you were skeptical about my muffin experience when I first told you about it, but it was really good! Apparently they have great gelato, too – too bad I never tried it! 😦 I just checked their website http://www.cocolat.com.au/ & unfortunately for me they are only in SA so I probably won’t get back there. Good thing there are so many yummy places to eat in Sydney!

      Reply

  2. Rebecca
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 22:02:27

    I was only in ADL for a day in between tours, but I loved it and wish I had stayed longer! The couple I got along with the best on my tour up to Alice, had just come off of spending 2 months in ADL and loved it!

    When I was coming to Australia from NZ, I seriously considered ADL, as it seemed like a good mix of the smallness of NZ, but Aussie-fied:-). Definitely a place I’ll be back too!

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 10:47:56

      At the time a week & a half seemed like long enough to spend in Adelaide, but looking back on it there were many things I didn’t do so I’m sure I could have enjoyed more time there! I hope you get to go back sometime soon!

      Reply

  3. Camille
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 02:06:15

    Love the monkey photo…looks like they were just sitting there waiting for you to take their picture. Adelaide seems so charming to me, and yes it was nice to know that you were finally indoors with real plumbing after two months on the road! Just for the record – I think I would have devoured that muffin….. and forgotten to take a photo.

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 10:51:01

      I know – the monkeys were super cute! I love that they looked right into the camera for that shot – they must be used to tourists snapping their picture all day long! 😉

      Reply

  4. Auntie Marilyn
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 10:59:19

    Awww – love the cute monkeys – think I will go to the Zoo today 🙂 The hostel does look pretty nice – had no clue what to expect! Sounds like such a wonderful, awesome time with so much to see and do! Drove by your house yesterday – the renters are taking wonderful care outside – they hung a U.S. flag on the garage and put cute decorations in the landscaping.

    Continue enjoying and keep safe – love and miss you!!!

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 11:36:27

      The nice thing about staying in hostels (besides saving money, of course!) is that if you’re lucky you can meet other travelers to hang out with & also you can buy your own food to keep in the hostel fridge & use their stove, pots & pans, etc. which you can’t always do in a hotel – well, at least not on my budget! 😉

      Yes, I am lucky to have such good tenants living in my house! My mom told me that they’ve done some landscaping which is really nice – I’m so bad at that stuff but I know the house could really use it! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Aunt Penny
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 00:21:13

    Great photos and stories. Love following your adventures. The animals are adorable. Wish I could try that muffin right now.

    Love you…

    Reply

  6. Cuzin Matthew :)
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 17:29:17

    That Tapir looks crazy! You’re getting to see some awesome stuff. Love you and miss you though!

    Reply

    • nicoleinoz
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 06:00:13

      Hahaha – he wasn’t as scary as he looks! Seemed pretty tame really, but he was the animal that intrigued me the most because I’d just never seen anything like him before! Love & miss you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Map of Australia

WA = Western Australia; NT = Northern Territory; SA = South Australia; QLD = Queensland; NSW = New South Wales; ACT = Australian Capital Territory; VIC = Victoria; TAS = Tasmania

Calendar

June 2011
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
